/* PCD change http to https for CSRF JUL 2017 */ Vladimir's Mansion | KidPub Press //
Vladimir's Mansion

Vladimir's Mansion

Posted April 20th, 2013 by TheAshWolf

A Book Review by TheAshWolf
in


Author: 
Sandy
Rating: 
5

A unique young girl named Sarah and her friend Danielle are captured and whisked off to Centrumarida, an arid desert whose crown jewel is an enormous Mansion run almost entirely by child workers. While Danielle is chosen to become a fighter at the Great Stadium, Sarah is sent off to the Mansion. After meeting a colorful array of characters--the mischievous Travis, a talking lock, the famous fighter Adrian-Markus, Patrick the young chef, kind-hearted Natalie, and her food-loving brother DJ—Sarah meets the top-hatted owner of the Mansion himself, seventeen-year-old Vladimir Shelae. Impressed with her brilliant mind and strong heart, Vladimir chooses her to become his first and only personal assistant. With the two of them running things, the Mansion's monetary success goes even further through the roof. In the meantime, Vladimir deals with the conflict between his heart and his own greed—he is betrothed to a princess as intelligent and terrifying as she is beautiful from a country drowning in debt, but his attention is drawn in another direction when he meets Sarah's room-mate and friend, Natalie. Not too long after that, Vladimir's dark past rears its head in the form of his younger brother, the ingenious Mitchell Shelae. After Mitchell slips his brother a poison he cooked up himself, it's up to Sarah and her newfound friend Travis to track down Mitchell and the antidote. From there, Sarah embarks on a journey to reunite the Shelae family, save Vladimir’s life, and prevent a complete takeover of the Mansion, all the while unknowingly unearthing the Mansion's deepest, darkest secrets. Witness the events of this thrilling tale within the pages of a marvelous book written by the incredible young artist known quite simply as Sandy. This is the story of Vladimir’s Mansion.

I give this story five stars out of five. Not only is the plot refreshingly unique and interesting, it has every single element a good story should have—action, adventure, humor, suspense, romance, intricate backstories, unforgettable characters, terrifying villains, and incredible descriptive detail. It’s a story so intricate and lifelike that it feels like you’re living the adventure with Sarah as you read. Sandy’s writing style is perfectly balanced and organized, and often peppered with fantastic metaphors, similes, and humor. Her description of the Mansion, the characters, and the rest of Centrumarida paints an incredible mental picture that will leave you wondering how such a young author could have come up with AND described a world so amazing.

As a bonus, you can stop by Sandy’s deviantART gallery and view the other side of her handiwork—amazing character portraits, sketches, comics, and other beautiful works of art. Go to http://nuttyspace.deviantart.com/ to view her page.

Seriously, if you haven’t already read this incredible story, you should start right now! Read the Prologue right here: http://www.kidpub.com/book-page-or-chapter/vladimirs-mansion-prologue-part-1-2-919105900

And, if you would like to join the fandom, visit the Vladimir’s Mansion Fan Club on the Writer’s Block Forum! Us readers tend to get a bit offtopic every now and then...but it's still a lot of fun! http://www.kidpub.com/forum3/showthread.php?t=1414 Don’t forget to bring a top hat if you plan to visit. ;)


See more stories by TheAshWolf
;___; Beautiful, Ash. Just

;___; Beautiful, Ash. Just beautiful.

What a great book review. I loved it. It was not too long, but just long enough that it drew you in and made you want to read it. Not too many details were given away. Awesome.

Guys, do me a favor and if you haven't, read Vladimir's Mansion. It is epik.

Don't forget to read World of Troodania by Ash though ;D

Posted by Kinnley (Arin) on Sat, 04/20/2013 - 18:53
Thank you, Arin! :D I'm glad

Thank you, Arin! :D I'm glad you enjoyed my review. I haven't written one in a while, so I was afraid I'd be a little rusty. XD

Eh? What? NO! Don't waste your time with MY story! READ VLADIMIR'S MANSION! It's sooooooo much better!!!!! *hands everybody a link* http://www.kidpub.com/book-page-or-chapter/vladimirs-mansion-prologue-pa...

~~~

"The whisper was right...they forgot about her." —Heroes of Our Generation, by Kendra

Posted by TheAshWolf on Sat, 04/20/2013 - 18:59
Arin Wat r u

Arin

Wat r u doin'...

e.e

IGNORE THAT LINK, EVERYONE! Ignore. Thank you, Arin, but, this is about VM. Not WOT. XD  *puts WOT in a far corner of the room*

~~~

"The whisper was right...they forgot about her." —Heroes of Our Generation, by Kendra

Posted by TheAshWolf on Sun, 04/21/2013 - 21:23
I LOVE VM!!! It's 100%

I LOVE VM!!! It's 100% amazing!

Awesome review, Ash.

Please read The Demigod Games! http://www.kidpub.com/book-page-or-chapter/demigod-games-chapter-1-17341...

Please read Bought With a Price, my co-write with Tess! http://www.kidpub.com/book-page-or-chapter/bought-price-co-write-tess-pr...

Posted by Abbey Bominable on Sat, 04/20/2013 - 18:55
I agree! :D VM is
Posted by TheAshWolf on Sat, 04/20/2013 - 18:59
100% true review. VM is

100% true review. VM is epic.

________
If you truly love someone
Then the only thing you want
Is for them to be happy
Even if it is never with you.

Posted by To Be Unseen (T... on Sat, 04/20/2013 - 19:16
(*hugs tightly*)  This...

(*hugs tightly*) 

This... wow. Needles to say, it has been added to my favourites. 

I just can't properly come up with words that describe this awesomeness. 

Thank you so much, Ash. 

Honestly, you've inspired/motivated me so much when it comes to VM. I can't exactly say that I would still be writing it right now if it weren't for you and KP. Thank you so, so much. 

(I'll probably come back to this and leave a better comment, as I seem to do with a lot of things these days. XD) 

 

~~There's no Canada like French Canada, it's the best Canada in the land~~

Posted by Sandy on Sun, 04/21/2013 - 09:43
*hugs back* X3 You are

*hugs back* X3

You are welcome.

I was just thinking about VM, yesterday, and how I couldn't remember ever seeing a review of it anywhere on KP. So, I figured, why not? VM certainly deserves some promotion and more readers. So I sat down, typed out a rough synopsis, tried not to make it too long or give away anything, tried to put my awe of VM into words, and then posted the whole crazy thing. ^_^

And I am EXTREMELY glad that you're still writing it! :'D *puts on top hat* Thank you for posting it on KP in the first place.

That's alright; you don't have to post another comment. ^_^ I accomplished what I wanted to accomplish, and I'm glad you read my review. *tips top hat at you*

~~~

"The whisper was right...they forgot about her." —Heroes of Our Generation, by Kendra

Posted by TheAshWolf on Sun, 04/21/2013 - 14:30

KidPub Authors Club members can post their own stories, comment on stories they've read, play on KidMud, enter our contests, and more!  Want to join in on the fun? Joining is easy! 

CLICK HERE TO GET STARTED!